blue-springs-river-178624_960_720

Blue Springs: A History

Framed by picturesque oak trees and discharging an historical average of 165 million gallons of water
each day, Blue Springs is the largest spring on the St. John’s River. The spring run flows approximately
1,050 feet through hardwood and palm forest to the St. John.

Timucuan Indians made the Blue Springs area their home until the mid-1800s when they were killed or
forced south and replaced by pioneer settlers. Blue Springs was purchased in 1856 by orange farmer and
husband to Orange City’s first postmistress, Louis Thursby. Thursby’s Blue Springs Landing was a
steamboat hub known for shipping goods and transporting passengers. Blue Springs was acquired in
1972 by the Florida Department of Environmental Protection as a crucial part of its manatee protection
program.

Today, Blue Springs remains a state-owned winter refuge for manatees and is a popular spot for
camping, canoeing, hiking, fishing, boating, historic tours, picnicking, swimming and scuba diving.
Gerry’s Marina, meeting Central Florida’s boating needs for over 30 years, is proud to serve the Blue
Springs area. Gerry’s Marina offers a large inventory of top quality new and pre-owned boats and a
complete line of boat parts and accessories. Gerry’s also offers Magic Tilt trailers, and we are a Yamaha
5-Star dealer with a Yamaha Master Technician on-site. Come visit our award-winning customer service
team at Gerry’s Marina – rated one of the best full-service marinas on the Florida shoreline. We are
located at 179 North Causeway in New Smyrna Beach.